Entry Points

Entry Point

All travelers to Indonesia must be in possession of a passport that is valid for at least six months from the date of arrival, and have proof (tickets) of onward or return passage.

The Indonesian Government extends Visa on Arrival (VoA) to nationals of 63 countries which can be obtained at designated entry airports and sea ports. Visa-on-Arrival are valid for 30 days and are extendable with another 30 days to be applied at Immigration offices in Indonesia.


Algeria Finland Liechtenstein Qatar United Kingdom
Argentina France Lithuania Rumania United States of America
Australia Germany Luxemburg Russia
Austria Greece Maldives Saudi Arabia
Bahrain Hungary Malta Slovakia
Belgium Iceland Mexico Slovenia
Brazil India Monaco South Africa
Bulgaria Iran Netherlands South Korea
Cambodia Ireland New Zealand Spain
Canada Italy Norway Suriname
Cyprus Japan Oman Sweden
Denmark Kuwait Panama Switzerland
Egypt Laos People’s Republic of China Taiwan
Estonia Latvia Poland Tunisia
Fiji Libya Portugal United Arab Emirates


Airport Seaport
Soekarno-Hatta (Jakarta) Batam
Ngurah Rai (Bali) Sri Bintan Pura (Tanjung Pinang)
Sultan Syarif Hasim (Pekanbaru) Belawan (North Sumatera)
Minangkabau (Padang) Sibolga (North Sumatera)
Juanda (Surabaya) Tanjung Perak (Surabaya)
sam Ratulangi (Manado) Teluk Bayur (Padang)
Polonia (Medan) Tanjung Priok
Hang Nadim (Batam) Padang Bai (Bali)
Halim Perdana Kusuma (Jakarta) Benoa (Bali)
Adi Sucipto (Yogyakarta) Port of Jayapura (Jayapura)
Adi Sumarno (Surakarta) Port of Bitung (Bitung)
Husein Sastranegara (Bandung) Tanjung Mas (Semarang)
Ahmad Yani (Semarang) Tenua (East Nusa Tenggara)
Selaparang (Mataram) Maumere (East Nusa Tenggara)
El-Tari (Kupang) Pare-Pare (South Sulawesi)
Hasanuddin (Makassar) Soekarno-Hatta (South Sulawesi)
Sam Ratulangi (Manado)
Sepinggan (Balikpapan)
Supadio (Pontianak)

Free Tourist short stay visas for 30 days are extended to tourists from 12 countries, i.e:

  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Malaysia
  3. Singapore
  4. Phillipines
  5. Thailand
  6. Vietnam
  7. Hong Kong
  8. Macao
  9. Chile
  10. Equador
  11. Morocco
  12. Peru

Visitors from other countries must apply for visa at Indonesia Embassies or Consulates in their home country. In addition, the visa cannot be replaced with any other immigration letters. The visa shall then be administered by Visa Officer in the presence of the applicant concerned.

You may find information on Indonesia embassies and consulates contact details at the Ministry of Foreign Affair website on the following direct link: www.deplu.go.id


Beware of the 30-day counting trap! The way they immigration officials count the 30-day period is: you arrive on the 1st day with, for instance, a 30-day visa, and you must leave on the 30th day (not the 31st or the first of the next month, as you might think).

If you want to stay in Indonesia LONGER than 30 days, you must leave the country and re-enter on a new tourist visa. People commonly fly to Singapore or Timor for this. There is no stipulation on the time you must stay outside Indonesia, in fact, you can return the same day if you want and be issued a new visa upon your arrival in Indonesia.


Passports for your family members are issued by a passport office from your own country. While your government may allow children to follow on their mother’s passports, it is better to have separate passports for every family member, just in case separate travel is required.

In order to apply for any visa to Indonesia, your passport must be valid for at least six months. If your passport is nearing expiration, we recommend you renew it to the maximum time allowable before you begin procedures to apply for an Indonesian entry visa.

An airport tax of Rp150,000 is levied by airports on departing passengers on international flights and Rp.40,000 for those on domestic routes.

Most hotels add a 10% service charge to the bill on top of the 10% tax. In restaurants where service charge is not added, a tip of 5 to 10% on the bill will be appropriate depending on the service and type of establishment.

Maximum items allowed by customs when you visit Indonesia:

  1. 1 liter of alcoholic beverages
  2. 200 cigarettes OR 50 cigars OR 100 grams of tobacco
  3. Reasonable amount of perfume per adult, meaning if you arrive drenched in perfume the customs probably will not mind you carrying loads of bottles.
  4. Cameras, video cameras, portable radios, cassette recorders, binoculars and sport equipments are admitted provided they are taken out on departure. They must be declared to Customs.


  1. Firearms
  2. Narcotics drugs
  3. Pornography materials
  4. Chinese printing and medicines
  5. Transceivers and cordless telephone
  6. Films, pre-recorded video tapes, laser discs, VCDs, DVDs must be screened by Censor Board.
  7. Import or export of foreign currencies and travelers’ checks are allowed. However, the import and export of Indonesia currency, exceeding 100 million Rupiah is prohibited.

Further information on customs and taxes in Indonesia, log into www.beacukai.go.id

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.